Travelogue: Big Summer Classic 2005

Show Notes
  • This special "BIG" 3-CD collection features the songs and performances that I felt were the highlights of the SCI sets from 2005 "Big Summer Classic" tour. These selections include SCI standards, as well as a number of "encore" collaborations with the members of Umphrey's McGee, New Monsoon, Yonder Mountain String Band, Spearhead, and of course, Keller Williams. It was impossible to include EVERYTHING, and many great collaborations had to be left out due to time constraints. I've done my best to capture a taste of what went down at the Big Summer Classic, and I hope you enjoy listening to this as much as I enjoyed putting it together.

    Larry Fox
    SCI On The Road - August 2005

    Anyway, here's the track listing...

    Disc 1
    Give Me The Love 7/15
    Yo Se 7/15
    Jellyfish 7/22 >
    Sweet Melinda 7/22
    MLT 7/12
    Eye Know Why 7/23
    Roundabout 7/23 >
    On The Road 7/23

    Disc 2
    Sometimes A River 7/21
    Freeker By The Speaker 7/2
    Will It Go Round In Circles 7/2
    Born On The Wrong Planet 7/3 >
    Monkey Jam 7/3 >
    I Know You Rider 7/3
    Impressions 7/7
    Franklin's Tower 7/8
    Billie Jean 7/8
    Whiskey Before Breakfast 7/10
    Doin' My Time 7/10

    Disc 3
    Lively Up Yourself 7/15
    Zombie Jamboree 7/16 (previously unreleased)
    Ramblin Man 7/17
    No Sleep Till Brooklyn 7/21
    San Jose 7/22
    The Mighty Quinn (Quinn, The Eskimo) 7/23
    Sand Dollar > 7/24
    Texas 7/24
    What's Goin' On 7/12

  • 7/2 Freeker by the Speaker and Will It Go 'Round In Circles features Jake Cinninger (guitar), Joel Cummins (keyboards), and Kris Myers (percussion) from Umphrey's McGee

  • 7/3 BOTWP > I Know You Rider features Dave Johnston (banjo) and Jeff Austin(mandolin) from YMSB, Brian Carey (percussion) and Marty Ylitalo (percussion) from New Monsoon

  • 7/7 Impressions features Brendan Bayliss and Jake Cinninger on guitar, Joel Cummins on keyboards, and Kris Myers on percussion (all from Umphrey's McGee), and Carl Young on saxophone (from Spearhead)

  • 7/8 Franklin's Tower features Keller Williams (guitar & lead vocals), Jeff Miller (guitar), and Phil Ferlino (keyboards) both from New Monsoon, and all of Michael Franti and Spearhead

  • 7/9 Billie Jean features all of Umphrey's McGee, with Billy, Kyle, Travis, Jason, and Mike from SCI

  • 7/10 Whiskey Before Breakfast & Doin' My Time features Adam Aijala (guitar) & Dave Johnston (banjo) from Yonder Mountain String Band

  • 7/12 MLT features Carl Young (from Spearhead) on Saxophone

  • 7/12 What's Goin' On features Michael Franti on vocals. (Edited due to time constraints)

  • 7/15 Lively Up Yourself features Keller Williams (guitar & vocals), and Umphrey's McGee

  • 7/16 Zombie Jamboree features Vince Herman (guitar & vocals) from Leftover Salmon (this song is from the 7/16 show which we were unable to release through LiveCheese due to technical issues)

  • 7/17 Ramblin' Man features SCI & New Monsoon & Michael Franti & Manny Alvarez

  • 7/21 No Sleep 'Till Brooklyn features Umphrey's McGee, Dave Shul (guitar) from Spearhead, Michael Franti (vocals) from Spearhead

  • 7/22 San Jose' features Jake Cinninger (guitar), and Kris Myers (percussion) from Umphrey's McGee, and Carl Young on saxophone

  • 7/23 The Mighty Quinn (Quinn, The Eskimo) features Jeff Austin (mandolin), Dave Johnston (banjo) from YMSB, Jeff Miller (guitar) and Marty Ylitalo (percussion) from New Monsoon, Keller Williams (guitar & vocals), Carl Young (saxophone, percussion) from Spearhead, Brendan Bayliss (guitar), Jake Cinninger (guitar) from Umphrey's McGee, and Martin Sexton (guitar, vocals).

  • Thanks to John Smrtic for the photo!
Fans who bought this also bought:

Get the String Cheese Incident Newsletter